Search

Register

Thanks for signing-up! You will receive an email with further instructions to activate your account!

username already taken
You already have an account? .

Login

Forgot password?
Don't have an account yet? Register now for using the UI-Designer and the forum or creating projects.
Login to create topics and posts!

Basic thermostat control

#1 Sept. 24, 2013 13:32:48 by ruud835

Basic thermostat control

Hello,

I'm Ruud and i want to control my heater with my iphone.
(Reading temperature, setting a temperature so the heater stops when reaching this temperature)
The hardware i want to use:
Raspberry Pi with Wifi
Piface
DS18B20 (temp sensor)

Because i'm pretty new in programming and have not yet a Raspberry :-( (network knowlegde is good)
i want to know if this is programmable with NetIO?

I hope someone have an answer for me and excuse me for my bad englisch.

Kind regards Ruud

#2 Sept. 25, 2013 09:25:59 by david.eickhoff

Basic thermostat control

Hi Ruud, you can build such a system in general with NetIO.

What you would need to do before setting up NetIO:
- check how the DS18B20 must be connected to the GPIOs (or to the piface shield), I guess this is pretty straight forward: http://www.raspiprojekt.de/anleitungen/schaltungen/9-1wire-mit-temperatursensor-ds18b20.html?showall=&limitstart= (it is in german, but maybe google translate will do the trick)

- check how to control your heater electrically, is there an interface or is it just power on / power off? for the latter case, you could probably use the relays on the piface shield. Before connecting a heater, try to connect an LED for testing.. remember that the relay has a limits (20Volt, 5Ampere)

- now go into the software side and get all libraries to control the piface shield and read the temperatur sensor “manually” with a small python or bash script.. for this you would need to learn a little bit about python